Pioneer Valley
Planning Commission

Pioneer Valley Transportation Authority Bus
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Transportation - Pioneer Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO)

Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) is the body which approves federally funded projects in Hampshire and Hampden counties. The MPO jointly develops, reviews, and endorses a Planning Works Program which includes a Unified Planning Works Program (UPWP); a Regional Transportation Plan (RTP); a Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), as well as any transportation plan or program that may be required by federal and state laws and regulations. The MPO is a forum for cooperative transportation decision making and will seek and consider the advice of any interested party in the Pioneer Valley. The Joint Transportation Committee (JTC) meets monthly to discuss transportation issues and makes recommendations on the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), Regional Transportation Plan (RTP), and Unified Planning Works Program (UPWP) endorsements to the MPO.


Next MPO Meeting: Tuesday April 29, 2014 @ 10:00am



The MPO consists of ten members including: The Chairperson of the Pioneer Valley Planning Commission (PVPC); the Chairperson of the Pioneer Valley Transit Authority (PVTA); the Secretary of Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT) and the Commissioner of the Massachusetts Highway Department (MHD) and six local representatives. These six representatives must each be an Elected Official from a given community. The six seats have been divided as follows:

Pioneer Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization Local Representation Breakdown
Type of position Towns represented
Two Mayors Chicopee, Holyoke, and Springfield
One Mayor or Selectman Agawam, Southwick, Westfield and
West Springfield
One Mayor or Selectman Amherst, Easthampton, Hadley, Northampton and South Hadley
One Selectman Belchertown, Brimfield, East Longmeadow, Granby, Hampden, Holland, Longmeadow, Ludlow, Monson, Palmer, Pelham, Wales, Ware and Wilbraham
One Selectman Blandford, Chester, Chesterfield, Cummington, Goshen, Granville, Hatfield, Huntington, Middlefield, Montgomery, Plainfield, Russell, Southampton, Tolland, Westhampton, Williamsburg and Worthington

In addition to the member for each of the groups of municipalities listed above, there are four alternates (one from each group) to serve on the MPO in the event that the member cannot be present. The alternate must also be an Elected Official.

Pioneer Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization Members
Name Position
Richard A. Davey Secretary and CEO of MassDOT
Frank DePaola Administrator, Highway Division of MassDOT
Walter Gunn Chairman of the Pioneer Valley Executive Committee
Mary MacInnes PVTA Administrator
Mayor Alex Morse City of Holyoke
Mayor Dominic J. Sarno City of Springfield
Mayor David Narkewicz City of Northampton
Mayor Richard Cohen Town of Agawam
George Archible Belchertown Board of Selectmen
Marcus Boyle Hatfield Board of Selectmen
Pioneer Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization Alternate Members
Name Position
Mayor Michael Bissonnette City of Chicopee
Mayor Daniel Knapik City of Westfield
David Moskin Hadley Board of Selectmen
Blake Lamothe Palmer Board of Selectmen
Aimee Burnham Huntington Board of Selectmen

FTA/FHWA Annual Listing of Obligated Projects

SAFETEA-LU, 23 U.S.C. 134(j)(7)(B), 23 U.S.C. 135(g)(4)(B), 49 U.S.C. 5303(j)(7)(B), and 49 U.S.C. 5304(g)(4)(B) require "…an Annual Listing of projects, including investments in pedestrian walkways and bicycle transportation facilities, for which Federal funds have been obligated in the preceding year shall be published or otherwise made available by the cooperative effort of the State, transit operator, and metropolitan planning organization for public review. The listing shall be consistent with the funding categories identified in each metropolitan transportation improvement program (TIP)."

This provision is intended to increase the transparency of government spending on transportation projects and strategies in metropolitan areas to State and local officials, and to the public at large. Realizing this objective involves promoting accuracy and responsiveness in financial planning and adoption of a proactive approach to sharing information with the public in a meaningful way, at an appropriate time, and in a user-friendly format.

Transportation Planning Certification Review of the Metropolitan Transportation Planning Process for the Springfield, MA-CT Transportation Management Area/ Pioneer Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization Final Report April 2012 (pdf)
Record Title VI Investigations
Transportation Improvement Project (TIP)
FFY 2012 Advertised Highway and Transit Projects (pdf)
FFY 2012 Highway Obligations (pdf)

Projects and Plans

Pioneer Valley MPO Title V Update
Memorandum of Understanding, August 1, 2006
3C Certification including Title VI

MPO Title VI Discrimination Complaint Procedure

Transportation Planning Program Public Participation Plan
Download the 2007 Preliminary RTP draft in PDF Format
Download the 2007 RTP Executive Summary in PDF Format
Download the Preliminary draft of Pioneer Valley Bicycle and Pedestrian Plan for MPO in PDF Format


[an error occurred while processing this directive]